IEBC results for Mwingi Central and Kitui South constituencies MPs

Voters lining up to cast their votes at a polling station. (Photo - Courtesy)

Gideon Mulyungi of the Wiper Party has retained his seat to serve for the second term after being declared MP-elect Mwingi central constituency.

Mulyungi garnered 36,509 votes followed by Lydia Mutambu of the Jubilee Party with 7,340 votes out of 44,636 votes cast in the constituency.

Speaking after being given a certificate, Mulyungi called upon his competitor to concede defeat so that peace may prevail in the constituency as he starts delivering to Mwingi Central residents.

“I want to thank the people of Mwingi Central for voting for me and we won, it’s a victory for the people and I wish to thank them for voting peacefully and coming out in large numbers to take me back to the parliament. It showed that during my first time I delivered and I assure them that when I go back to the parliament I will work extra hard more than before. I request the woman I was competing with to concede defeat and bring order in Mwingi because she had brought chaos and fights yet we were living in peace before she came,” Mulyungi stated.

Mulyungi promised the people of Mwingi that he will fight for them at the National Assembly and make sure that they will see more development in his second term.

In Kitui South, Rachel Kaki Nyamai was declared the winner and is going to serve for a third term. Kaki garnered 24,999 votes followed by Onesmus Mumo King of the ODM Party with 11,916 votes and Daniel Ndambuki Mutua came third with 8,269 votes, Dennis Maithya had 733 votes, Samuel Kiminza 624, Daniel Kilonzi 310, and John Munyallo 114.

After Rachel Kaki was issued the certificate, the other contestants decried the lack of transparency in the voting exercise and will be issuing a statement on their next move.

Advertisement X2