Final IEBC Results for Kitui Central and Mwingi North MP Seats

The Mwingi North MP Paul Nzengu popularly known as Malili of the Wiper party has retained his seat for a second time.

Nzengu thrashed three other contestants for the seat, John Munuve of the Jubilee Party, Charles Mwalimu of the UDA Party, and Patrick Muthui Mwangangi of the ODM Party.

The election results were declared by the Mwingi North Constituency IEBC returning officer Martin Malonza at the Kyuso polytechnic tallying center on Wednesday.

Malonza announced that Nzengu garnered 23,560 votes out of the total votes cast in the MP elections. Munuve came second with 17989 votes, Mwangangi got 1100 votes while Mwalimu came trailing with 1218 votes. The total number of votes cast in the constituency was 43,792. Mwingi North has 68,829 voters registered in the constituency.

In a brief acceptance speech, after he was handed the certificate and was declared the winner, Nzengu said, “I dedicate my victory to the people of Mwingi North who have chosen to re-elect me to continue serving them and I promise to serve you to the best of my ability.”

Nzengu called his competitors to give him humble time to deliver to the people of Mwingi North and he is ready for a handshake with them.

In Kitui Central, Makali Mulu of the Wiper Party was re-elected to serve for the third term where he garnered 30,954 votes followed by former KBC Journalist Musambi Boniface Mutisya who got 9,866 votes. Kasyula Joseph Muviwa followed with 3831 votes, Malonza Kituti got 1069, Keiva Musyoka 440, Denis Kiliku 212 and Mururu John 104 votes.

Stay in touch ...