Machakos: Wavinya critics kicked out of County Assembly Committees

A section of Machakos MCAs opposed to Governor Wavinya have been removed from the County Assembly committees. This is according to a communication from the Majority leader.

Kalama Ward MCA Boniface Maeke and Kyeleni Ward MCA Grace Bahati were among the affected MCAs.

Mua Ward MCA Francis Ngunga termed the move by the Majority leader and the deputy speaker as unwise noting that political differences should not be brought into the house and MCAs being moved from committees as a way of punishing them.

“Members are elected work through committees so when a member is discharged from one committee how will he discharge his mandate in this house, we cannot use the issue of the committee to punish political differences that is a bad thing,” said Ngunga.

Nominated MCA Dee Kivuva said that it was unjust for the Majority leader and Deputy Speaker to hold such a move.

“I want to plead with the majority leader and the deputy speaker to use the natural justice, some of us should not be in seven committees while others like Maeke are in one committee in our wisdom as the wiper party,” said Dee Kivuva.

Boniface Maeke who was affected by the move asked his colleagues to consider the future saying that in politics there are no enemies.

Below is a list of the members who were removed from the committees;

The Committee on Selection on Nomination and Substitution of Members to Committees also approved the following Members to serve in the Committees that were being served by the late Gideon Kavuu (Mumbuni North Ward); Agriculture committee Mercy Njagi, Labour, Public Service and ICT Committee Dickson Maundu, Culture and Tourism, Evelyn Nzeki and Implementation Committee Boniface Maeke.

Stay in touch ...

error: Content is protected !!