Police erect 10 roadblocks at the borders of Machakos county

Police officer manning a roadblock. (Photo - File)

President Uhuru Kenyatta while addressing the nation on 26th March announced the cessation of Movement to the disease-infected area of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru as one zoned area. Police have since moved to erect roadblocks at the borders of Machakos county.

Machakos county borders Kitui and Makueni which are not among the disease-infected counties. The 10 entry and exit points where police have erected roadblocks include;

A roadblock at Katumani Machakos junction along the Mombasa Nairobi highway has been mounted and is being manned by GSU. Another roadblock is at Katuaa along the Machakos Wote road.

The police have also put up a roadblock at Kali along Machakos – Mbooni road and Kwa Mutisya along Kimutwa – Kwa Mutisya road.

Along the Masii – Tawa road, a roadblock has been put up at Kavumbu and another at Mbaikini along Muthetheni -Ikalaasa road in Mwala.

At the border with Kitui, a road block is stationed at Tiva bridge in Yatta sub-county, at Kambi la Mawe along Ndalani – Kambi Mawe Kaloleni road, at Kavingo along Kyua -Kanyangi road and Kaburu dam along Embu -Kanyonyo road.

The main challenge for the police will be the big number of “Panya routes” along the areas which are not manned and can still be used for crossing over.

Every single day, an average of 5,000 people mostly from Kitui, Makueni, and Machakos visit our website for news. Advertising with us will easily grow your business from those numbers. Our rates are affordable. Hit us up today for a free quote on 0737733010.
Facebook Comments