Makueni County Assembly gets new chairperson’s panel

A past photo of Makueni MCAs during a session of the house. The MCAs Thursday approved the new speaker's panel. (Photo credit - Makueni County Assembly)

Days after Makueni County Assembly Speaker Douglas Mbilu dissolved the Speaker’s panel in a surprise move, the assembly Thursday approved new members who will sit in the chairperson’s panel.

The motion recommending new members of the chairperson’s panel was tabled by Majority leader who is also the Tulimani MCA Kyalo Mumo.

The approved Chairperson’s panel will consist of Kevin Mutuku MCA Kitise/Kithuki Ward, Nicodemus Muthoka MCA Emali/Mulala Ward, Isaac Munyao MCA Kee Ward, Mercy Kituku and Sheila Munene who are both nominated.

The Speaker was lauded for nominating a physically challenged member to the panel.

The previous Speaker’s panel membership included Kelvin Mutuku, Nicodemus Muthoka, Nicholas Maitha MCA Thange ward, and Nominated MCAs Sharon Mutinda and Mariana Kimilu.

Nicholas Maitha, Sharon Mutinda and Mariana Kimilu did not make it back to the panel.

Elizabeth Mutindi however urged the Assembly to give women positions in the Assembly leadership noting that in the new speaker’s panel, women were given the 4th and 5th chairperson position.

“Women in this Assembly look like they are an afterthought. Last time the ladies who have left were number 4 and 5 and now they are number 4 and 5. Women in this Assembly have the ability to do what men can do. They should be given the chance.” She said.

The Speaker’s panel also known as Chairperson’s panel has a mandate to preside in the Assembly in absence of the Speaker and assisting the Deputy Speaker in presiding over the Committee of the Whole Assembly.

Do you have a story that you would like us to publish? Please reach us through or Call/WhatsApp: 0737733010.

Facebook Comments